Website text by Stephen Kercher, Ph.D., Associate Professor of History, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
Website design by Ranah Voss

This website draws substantially from Black Thursday Remembered, a multimedia, interactive exhibition which opened at UW Oshkosh on November 21, 2008.


The Black Thursday Remembered team:

Stephen Kercher, Black Thursday Remembered Co-Curator
Joshua Ranger, UW Oshkosh Archivist and Black Thursday Remembered Co-Curator
Shawn McAfee, Black Thursday Remembered Designer
Jeffrey Pickron, Oral History interviewer
Michelle Merkes, Student Research and Project Production Assistant
Anthony Pietsch, Student Research Assistant
Kim Louagie, Black Thursday Remembered consultant

We wish to thank the 130 individuals who shared their memories with us and made Black Thursday Remembered (and its spinoffs) possible. 

We also wish to acknowledge the following individuals, businesses, and organizations for their generous support:

Wisconsin Academy for the Study of American History
Kikkoman Foods Foundation Inc.
One Oshkosh: Human Relations Council
Oshkosh Area Community Foundation
Oshkosh Hilton Garden Inn
Coffee Makes You Black
Radiology Associates of Appleton
UW-Milwaukee Libraries and Area Research Center
UW Oshkosh Credit Union
UW System Institute on Race and Ethnicity
Wisconsin Humanities Council (with logo)
Karen Bowen
William and Vivian Heaney
Norbert and Mary Hill
Lynn Kuhns
The Family of Ted Leyhe
Alan Michels
Jean Morack

Black Thursday Remembered was a University of Wisconsin Oshkosh collaboration sponsored by:

The Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor
The College of Letters and Science
The College of Education and Human Services
The African American Studies Program
The Department of History
The Department of English
The Department of Journalism
Polk Library
The Multicultural Education Center
UW Oshkosh Foundation
The Society of Professional Journalists, UW Oshkosh student chapter

The following individuals contributed substantially to the development of Black Thursday Remembered:

Byron Adams
Rayna Andrews
Barbara Beuscher
Jennifer Bumann
Linda Cotton
Dr. Virginia Crane
Dr. Norlisha Crawford
Dr. Jeanette DeDiemar
Sara Eliasen
Linda Freed
Dee Kehrberg
Dr. Muriel Hawkins
Dawn Abraham
Jamison Hein
Latrice Hobson
Jaime Hunt
Natalie Johnson
Jason Kobishop
Jenni Kundinger
Brian Ledwell
Ryan Lovejoy
Sandra Muinde
Donna O’Brien
Teffanie Price
Art Rathjen
Emmet Sandberg
Rebecca Sullivan